Should I stay or should I go?

As the The Clash song goes ”Darlin’ you got to let me know
Should I stay or should I go?”, except that in this case, we’re talking about a house, and the decision was already made; we’re going.

Let me give you a little back story here: Four years ago, as our wedding day approached, hubby and I scored our lovely first home. A giant old farmhouse that had been put on the market for a ridiculously good price.It has just under 2 acres, apple trees, pear trees, a nice big yard, more bedrooms then we will hopefully ever need, and a beautiful staircase. We were happy here. It needed work, but for the price, it was to be expected. I would have liked more land, some water ( a pond maybe?), but overall, I was happy! Hubby would have liked a finished basement, or at least a basement with the potential to be finished, a garage, a place where I could have a horse someday, but overall, he was happy.

Then, the other day, while browsing real estate website( because you just never know when the perfect place might come up!), the perfect place came up! Smaller house( so much more manageable, but without the gorgeous staircase), a stream AND riverfront access, a cottage, 2 car garage, outbuildings, and a pasture for my imaginary horse! We went to visit. We liked it. We put an offer in. And then I got SUPER nervous. What if its haunted? What if the neighbours are serial killers? What if we buy the house, and then it falls apart? What if we HATE it. What if Ellie tumbles down the hill into the creak and hurts herself? What if Ellie goes in the basement and up into that creepy crawl space? What if our current house doesn’t sell? What if the financial burden puts a strain on our relationship? We’re happy here. What if we aren’t happy there? What if the person who buys this house is a hunter and they hunt Mrs.Deer who comes to eat the apples from the apple tree?

Needless to say, I am an amazing worrier! I’ve had a few half sleepless nights, which in return make me even less reasonable and that’s when I start to worry about the really silly stuff. And I’m not talking about Mrs. Deer, because that bit truly breaks my heart!(She trusts us!) Anyway, last night we heard back from the bank and we were approved for our mortgage, albeit not for as much as we’d hoped. We are moving forward with this terrifying new adventure and we’ll have to tighten our belts for a little while, but rational me thinks it will be a worthwhile new challenge.

But don’t worry, irrational, oversensitive me is still losing her sh*t! I’ll keep you posted!

 

Leave a Reply

