Cloth Diapering- 9 months in

Before we found out we were expecting a baby, making decisions about diapers was not something I ever thought I would need to do. I knew a baby would need to wear diapers, obviously, but I never really realized we had choices. Brand name disposables, generic disposables, eco-friendly disposables, cloth diapers- pocket diapers, all in ones, old school origami diapers, you name it!

I don’t remember what exactly sparked the idea of cloth diapers for me, but I do remember the hours of research I did before turning to hubby, armed with all my new found knowledge and asking ” What do you think of using cloth diapers?”. Little One is 9 months old now, and despite what everyone around us thought, we have stuck with cloth and are still very happy with our decision. I highly doubt we will give it up before she is potty trained.

The journey has had it’s ”crappy” moments( see what I did there? 😛 ), but for the most part, it has been smooth sailing. The biggest recommendation I could give anybody who is undertaking cloth diapering is this: Cut yourself some slack!

Every cloth diaper used is one less diaper in the dumps and that much more money in your pocket. Do what you are comfortable with, and what works for you and your family. You do not have to use cloth 100% of the time.

When Little One was born, neither of us really knew how to change a diaper. I mean, we had an idea of how it worked, in theory, but in actual practice, it was scary stuff! We started out using NB disposables that the hospital and shower guests had provided us with and within about a week, I tried my first cloth diaper on her. It was HUGE. If you plan to cloth diaper your newborn, and can afford a couple of diapers that won’t last your child’s entire diaper career, I’d recommend investing in a couple of newborn sized cloth diapers. I found a Kawaii Seconds sale and bought a couple of these when she was about 1 month old. If I were to do it again, I would make sure to have the newborn sizes on hand right away.

Some babies seem completely at ease sitting in a big wet diaper, but Little One hated having a wet bum from day 1. She would fuss as soon as the little line on the diapers would get a speck of blue, so we decided very early on that we would not bother to try cloth overnight. She will easily pee through a regular cloth diaper in just a few hours, so we did not want to lose sleep while we tried to troubleshoot overnight cloth. Same goes for long outings. If we are going somewhere comfortable like my parents place, we will do cloth, but if we have a 2+ hour drive, which is not often, we opt for disposables.

When I started shopping for cloth diapers, I was not overly familiar with brands, or diaper websites, so I spent a lot of time browsing for deals, and brands in a price range I was willing to pay. As a result, I ended up with a variety of diapers in different brands. Some I liked, some I didn’t ( namely Baby City). What I didn’t expect, however, was how glad I would be to have such an array of fits. As baby grew, her body changed a lot, obviously. In the early days, she had a big belly and tiny legs, later, she had a thin belly area and chubby legs, and now she has thunder thighs, thin hips and a big old chubby belly. Styles that fit great then, aren’t my preferred now, and styles that leaked around the legs then, are perfect now. A lot of people dish out a lot of money for a diapering starter kit from one brand before baby is born, and then baby arrives and the fit is all wrong, and they end up giving up because they can’t get it to work. I understand. I would get so frustrated with my diapers when I couldn’t get the right fit on Baby, until I realized that next week, they might fit better, just set them aside. We had about 8 cloth diapers when we brought baby home, and from there, we bought a few more of each of the kinds we like, as well as a few experimental ones and have grown to a reasonable 25-30 diapers.


I am so happy we decided to do cloth diapers, I think they are adorable, convenient, easy, and they save us a ton of money. The biggest downfall of using cloth diapers, to me, was when money got really tight, we were already using cloth diapers, so we couldn’t turn to cloth to save money! Haha!

How did you come about using cloth diapers? What did you learn in the process that you did not expect?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering- 9 months in

    1. We had to change outfits a lot in the beginning due to leaks, but it was from both ends lol! She would spit up on herself a lot and her diapers would leak a bit until we figured out the right fit and such. Oddly enough, we had more poop-splosions with disposables for a while and now she is ”poop-trained”. Still need diapers for pees, but about 95% of poops happen in the potty. Not sure I’d still be so keen on cloth otherwise!

      Like

Leave a Reply

